The Fratellis - Costello Music (2006)

The Fratellis - Costello Music (2006)
The Fratellis - Costello Music (2006)
EAC | FLAC | Tracks (Cue&Log) ~ 337 Mb | Mp3 (CBR320) ~ 110 Mb | Scans included
Indie Rock, Garage Rock | Label: Drop The Gun Recordings | # 1707193 | 00:44:22

Brash, melodic, and imbued with a more-than-healthy sense of British rock tradition, the Fratellis and their debut album, Costello Music, come across almost like a caricature of bands like the Libertines, Dirty Pretty Things, and Arctic Monkeys - but at least it's a flattering one. The Fratellis take themselves a lot less seriously than some of the other laddish bands popular in the U.K. in the late 2000s, and emphasize hooks and fun rather than samey-sounding rock. Songs like "Baby Fratelli" and "The Gutterati" have a singalong simplicity, and it feels like the band puts as many "la la la"s and "ba da ba"s into each song as they can - and then try to cram in a few more. Costello Music's best tracks go even farther with the band's fun-only agenda; it's easy to hear why "Flathead" - which switches between grinding, aggressive verses and a downright giddy chorus with more of those "ba da bop a dah" hooks - was picked to soundtrack a fittingly day-glo, kinetic iPod TV commercial. The outstanding single "Chelsea Dagger" is just as vibrant, a swaggering glam rock nugget with pints-aloft choruses. "Henrietta"'s loopy catchiness owes a debt to vaudeville or musical comedy, and not just because Jon Fratelli sings "wa wa wa waaaahhh" along with the guitar solo; "For the Girl," meanwhile, has a melody so strong, it could've been a hit anytime between the '60s and the '90s.

01. Henrietta (3:32)
02. Flathead (3:18)
03. Cuntry Boys & City Girls (3:31)
04. Whistle For The Choir (3:36)
05. Chelsea Dagger (3:35)
06. For The Girl (2:48)
07. Doginabag (3:21)
08. Creepin' Up The Backstairs (3:07)
09. Vince The Loveable Stoner (3:14)
10. Everybody Knows You Cried Last Night (3:54)
11. Baby Fratelli (3:57)
12. Got Ma Nuts From A Hippy (3:11)
13. Ole Black & Blue Eyes (3:16)

Download link:

Links are Interchangeable - No Password - Single Extraction

Related News

Comments 0